Reviews Galore!- Makeup

Wassuuuuuup Churchill?!

I’m trying find some kind of catchy phrase to use when I start these things. How was that? … Yeah it was lame. Moving on –

We live in this free country where competition in the market place is necessary to keeping our mixed economy – sorry, a little too much Social Studies in there. What I was trying to get at, is that there isn’t only one brand of a certain product – there are multiple brands, and because of this it can be hard to know which one to get.

The editors of the fashion column know your pain, which is why we have compiled a list of reviews of all sorts of things that we feel are top notch – hopefully it helps. If it doesn’t, well, that’s rather unfortunate.

If you have a product to recommend, by all means contact us – comment below, message one of us (Wahaj, Anahita or Alise) on facebook, or e-mail us at thechurchillian@gmail.com.

Without further ado – the collection of reviews:

Make-Up

Let’s start with the basics – the foundations, if you will.

If you didn’t catch on, I’m literally talking about foundation – and primers and the like. The things that prep your face for the shadows the blush etc.

— Wahaj:

for this section, I’ve got two products that I find notable.

1. Fit Me Foundation — by Maybelline

Like the name suggests, this foundation fits me. It doesn’t create a layer that sits on top of your skin like some foundations do – it looks really good. I don’t even know how to describe it, but I can tell you that whenever I wear it (which is usually on special occasions since my skin type is oily so it’s not good to wear foundation often – those of you with oily skin take note) people comment on how clear my skin looks and they just try to figure out what’s different – most don’t realize it’s foundation. Which I think is a pretty good indicator that – hey, this is some good stuff.

There are 18 different shades, so you’re bound to find one that fits your skin tone nicely. It also has an SPF of 18, so there’s a bit of protection in there as well – perfect!

You can find these at a number of places; personally I get it from either Wal-mart or Shoppers Drug Mart. The price varies depending on the store and when you buy it (if you get it while it’s marked down/on sale etc) but usually it’s around $5 to $7 which is pretty good for a bottle that size (it’s a good size).

2. Eyeshadow Primer Potion — by Urban Decay

I absolutely adore this tiny tube of magic. With my oily skin, eyeshadow and liner tends to crease after a bit of time. I tried a bunch of primers but they never really worked. I even started to think that there really wasn’t a solution and that I just had to keep going to the bathroom to retouch, or just give up eye makeup (yes, it was that bad). But then a friend told me about this goo from heaven – and lo and behold, it actually works! It keeps my make-up looking fresh and smooth, with absolutely no creases!

You can find this baby at Sephora for $24. It’s a small tube, but it lasts a long time, especially if you’re smart about it. I use it quite frequently, but I make sure not to put on too much (because putting on too much makes it less effective, I’ve noticed).

 

Leave a Reply

