Hello, Fashionistas!

Yes, I am totally aware of the lame title – but indulge in the cheesiness, my friends. Anyway, back to the introduction.

Hi, I’m Wahaj A. – senior in Churchill and the editor of the fashion column you see here. I also have with me a team of stylists – Alise W. and Anahita A. – who will also make posts from time to time. Our team is diverse in their skill sets and styles, which brings a broader perspective to the table. Now, how about some biographies?

0000PicMonkey Collageedits

Anahita A.

Well, I don’t really have a “main” style; however, I’d say my style is a mixture of a boho and preppy chic. I don’t like to stick to one particular style – also, I don’t like to follow fashion; I try to create my own ideas as much as I can. So far, my favourite stores would be Forever 21, Winners, H&M, Aldo Accessories, Aritzia, Urban Outfitters, American Eagle, Spring and Sport Check (because I’m also a bit of a sportssoccer freak).

Momentarily, my utter most favourite fashion pieces would be knit sweaters and infinity scarves. The best thing about these two pieces would be that they are perfect over top of a long white blouse, black skinny jeans (or leggings, which ever you prefer) and combat boots with a artisan messenger bag. I adore this complete set!

I will keep you posted with more outfit ideas!

And don’t forget ladies – “A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.” – Coco Chanel

Alise W.

Hmm… I can’t put my finger on just one style in my entire wardrobe, because I like to explore everything that the fashion world has to offer. I’m not a huge trend follower per se; but when I am, I’m usually a few trends behind everyone else… I guess I’m more of a bohemian-meets-preppy sort of person most of the time. I believe that the best accessory for anyone is their hair (and their smile 🙂 ). I’m crazy about styling hair – I’ll never say no to braiding someone’s hair. I love playing around with it and creating new styles using braiding, curling, and all sorts of hair styling techniques.

I don’t have any favourite stores,because I tend to buy clothes from everywhere. I’m all for the bargains, the sales, and the clearance racks – no shame! Where ever there’s a sale, you’ll find me there. I usually shop at H&M, Urban Outfitters, Stitches, and Forever 21 though. I also adore vintage shopping. Retail therapy, is hands down, the best therapy.

As most of my friends may know, I have been wearing nothing but chiffon shirts lately (With pants, of course). Even though chiffon is considered a spring piece, I wear it during every other season anyway – because I believe there shouldn’t be a fashion limits as to which clothes you should wear for what seasons (as long as it’s appropriate, of course). Chiffon is great for any occasion; you can dress it up, down, or in between. Chiffon shirts are definitely something you need to get your hands on! It’s awesome finding vintage chiffon in the thrifties, too. Watch out for me in this newpaper! You’ll find outfit of the days and tons of hair tutorials to keep you stylish for the school year!

A little bit about me? Sure.

Let’s see – my style is somewhat bohemian at the core – however I am a dabbler, if you will. I’m all about exploring new styles and breaking typical conventions – I’m all about the creativity aspect of fashion. I’m also into fashion DIY – you’ll see what I mean later on. My favourite stores include H&M, Forever 21, Urban Planet, Aldo, Urban Behaviour, Sirens, Spring, Winners, and other stores that have escaped my mind at this moment. Like I said – dabbler.

Currently, my absolute favourite fashion item is the Chambray – a little bit of fashion terminology there. What that is, for those who are not familiar with the term, is a denim button up. It is a unisex piece that has spiked this fall/winter season (mind you, I got my first one last spring) that is the most functional piece you can have in your wardrobe since the creation of jeans. Watch for a post on different ways you can style this item in the future!

Oh, and before I forget, I do have my own personal fashion blog aside from my involvement in this online newspaper. I started it about a year and a half ago as a way of combining my love of fashion with my love of writing. Here is the link, if you’d like to look around: http://thestylethegirlandthewardrobe.blogspot.ca/

One last thing – in my own blog, I have a habit of signing off with my pen name The Stylist, so that’s what I’ll be signing off with instead of my name. Pen names seem more professional and cool anyway. Or is that just me?

What can you expect to see here, you ask?

Good question, my unknown audience. This column will include articles like different ways to wear (insert item of choice), seasonal trends, outfit ideas, product reviews, and more!

There will also be pictures of you – yes you. Any Churchillian caught by one of our team members will be nicely asked if they’re okay with their outfit being featured here! Sound exciting? *nods head*

We’re not done yet, though (just one more minute of your time, bear with me). Is there anything you would particularly like to see here? Is there anything that’s collecting dust in your closet because you just don’t know what to pair it with? Thinking of buying something but you don’t know if it’s going to be any good? Know someone that you think deserves to be featured? Alas, you may contact us and request whatever you like! Comment below, message one of us on facebook, or e-mail us at thechurchillian@gmail.com.

Stay stylist, my friends.

xoxo

The Stylist

One comment

  1. I’m very happy to discover this website. I want to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every part of it and I have you book marked to look at new stuff in your blog.

Leave a Reply

